Join Our First Facilitator Brain Jam: Using Mural for Virtual Facilitation

In the wake of COVID-19, many of us have found ourselves thrust into a world of virtual facilitation for the first time. We’re having to put down many of the tools we know and love that don’t translate into this new virtual space. As facilitators, we want to keep our groups engaged and our processes dynamic, but we need to find new tools and new ways to adapt to make that happen.

To support our community in getting creative and inventive using new technologies, we’re kicking off a virtual facilitation tips series we’re calling Facilitator Brain Jams, this Friday, May 15th! Our first topic will be Using Mural for Virtual Facilitation.

With a second session on May 19th (20th if you’re in AEST) on the same topic to make it easier for folks in different time zones to join.

Here’s the RSVP link: https://hues.typeform.com/to/Uu1FSr

Read on for more details 👇

What’s a Brain Jam?

In our Brain Jams, we’ll be meeting on Zoom to explore a digital tool and crowdsource creative ways to use it in our facilitation. For the first few, we’ll be focusing on virtual facilitation (for obvious reasons).

This round, our Brain Jam will be on Mural, a digital workspace for visual collaboration. Think collaborative whiteboard + markers + sticky notes, but 100% online.

Here is a 90-second video explaining Mural:

How will the Brain Jam go?

In a Zoom call with a max of 40 participants, we’ll start by briefly reviewing the technology.

Then, in breakout rooms, we’ll use the Liberating Structure process Wise Crowds to source problems and brainstorm creative ways to use the technology to solve them.

We’ll finish by coming back to the large group and sharing highlights from the breakouts with everyone, so we all leave with new creative ideas to enhance our digital facilitation.

Who’s invited?

All facilitators are invited to the Brain Jam. As space is limited, we will be prioritizing our Kickstarter backers and then opening the unclaimed spots to our wider Facilitator Cards community. These spots will be allocated first-come, first-serve.

When are they happening?

We will be hosting two different Mural Brain Jams:

  • May 15 at 9am PDT / 11am CDT / 12pm EDT / 5pm BST
  • May 19 at 4pm PDT / 6pm CDT / 7pm EDT / (May 20) 9am AEST

Both will last 90 minutes. Both will be focused on Mural. And you’re welcome to attend both (the wisdom of each crowd will lead to a unique experience), one, or neither — and feel free to invite your facilitator friends & colleagues.

What do I need in order to participate?

You’ll need three things:

  1. The ability to log-in to a Zoom call (video is a plus, audio is a must).
  2. A Mural account if you don’t have one already (they have a 30-day free trial).
  3. A commitment that you’ll explore Mural a little before the meeting (we’ll walk you through this in the RSVP form).

This event is free, so no worries about registration fees or tuition.

Where are the meeting details?

You’ll find the meeting details at the end of the RSVP. Please feel free to email me at [email protected] with any additional questions.

I can’t wait to jam with y’all!


P.S. We are not affiliated with or sponsored by Mural or Zoom. We simply think they’re neat tools that can help us enhance and adjust our practices in this digital facilitation moment.

Have something to add?